home

vintage luminary

In thrifting + vintage on 01/16/2010 at 1:21 pm

[ thrifted cheese grater + 3″ pillar candle = vintage luminary ]

I stumble across these old rusty kitchen tools at nearly every estate sale and antique shop that I frequent. I’ve also spotted a few on Etsy at Rage of the Age, Bella Vintage, and The Dapper Apple. And of course, if you run across an old flour sifter, remember that you can use it this way.

If you haven’t already, don’t forget to put you name in the hat for the hand-tied vintage quilt giveaway. Details here. When you have time, be sure to drop in and make the new folks feel at home. Have a great weekend!

p.s. Craft Hope has set up an Etsy shop filled with beautiful handmade goods to aid the relief effort underway in ravaged Haiti. All proceeds benefit Doctors Without Borders.

Craft Hope for Haiti Shop Spreading seeds of hope one stitch at a time

  1. That’s a really cute idea!

  2. really great ideas for the grater and the sifter! and thanks for adding me to your regulars list…glad to be a part of such a lovely thing….blessings~

  3. This is a great idea! I was just given one of these from my Dad. He bid on a whole box of old kitchen items at an auction last month. I’ll definitely have to try this out! Have a great weekend!

  4. I am New to receiving your posts in my email. I have to say you come up with the most creative ideas to do with Vintage Items. I am so glad I signed up!
    Huggs, Nancy
    http://www.coeurdalenegifts.com
    coeurdalenegifts.blogspot.com

  5. That’s a really great use for the cheese grater. I’ll definitely pick one up next time I see one.

  6. Love this idea. I know what I’ll looking for at the thrift stores now. 🙂 Have a lovely weekend.

  7. I LOVE this idea. I have never really thought about the possibilities of using vintage kitchen accessories. Thank you for the inspiration, as always 🙂

  8. That’s the prettiest cheese grater I’ve seen. Love this.

    Laura and I have donated some baby goods to the Craft Hope Store. What a wonderful idea.

  9. I love the old rusted grater look. Once upon a time it looked shiny and new like the ones in our cabinets. Now it is repurposed with a new light, (ha, ha).

    :)Lisa

  10. LOVING that idea. Definite inspiration.

  11. what a cool idea!

  12. I love your plant in the sifter,and love thrifting it’s so exciting finding unique things!

Leave a Reply

