home

the fine print – a collaborative

In the fine print on 12/18/2009 at 12:06 pm

One of the many gifts of blogging is that invariably, you begin to notice things – little things. Framed in the viewfinder, the simple ordinary becomes sacred. The camera has become a constant companion on our daily adventures and I’m finding fresh eyes for her world. And as I visit you, I realize that you’re doing the same. Woven together these images tell a grand story of innocence and adventure. My hope is that this collaborative will capture the details – her tousled curls on the pillow…the dimples on his muddy hands. It’s a place to celebrate “the fine print” – things that are often missed in the snapshots from birthday parties and family vacations.  Things you’ll want to remember twenty years from now. And I hope you’ll visit often, share your images, and gain inspiration from others.

There is just one simple rule, meant to stretch your creativity. No faces allowed. This means that your photos can not contain eyes, noses or mouths. (After much deliberation, I decided that ears are perfectly acceptable.)

Periodically, I will highlight a handful of favorites from this pool so please realize that by posting you are granting me permission to do so. If you blog, please include your blog address in the description of your photo or in your Flickr profile so that I can provide a link back from my post. I look forward to reading your chapters of Childhood: The Fine Print.

  1. love it. let me see what I can find. And, thanks for answering my question from yesterday.

  2. what a good idea!

  3. Thanks for visiting my blog! I love your photographs! I’m not very good at taking pictures, but I take a lot of them! 😀

    I really like the fine print project. I’ll try it! 🙂

  4. What a sweet idea for a pool! I just joined and will share my son’s letter to Santa today. It’s not the greatest photo I’ve ever taken but I love his handwriting so much!

  5. I agree that one of the best things about blogging is the different way I see things now. I’m constantly looking for inspiration in the smallest things and I love it.

  6. Hi Gina,
    What a wonderful idea, The Fine Print! I, too, have come to love most those oblique angles on a moment, a child (and I’m lousy, lousy, lousy at official posed shots!) Of course I’ll include something, though it may be after the holidays, as we’re preparing to fly out on Christmas Day. Many thanks for your kind words, and I look forward to poking around here further!
    (And my oh my yes, give me thrift stores over malls any day!)
    Molly

  7. This is so beautiful! Totally made my day, and is challenging me to find some pictures to submit! 🙂

  8. i’ve left some pictures. i love toes mostly. but only baby toes :).

  9. What a great project!

  10. Here by way of SS today.
    I home school my boys and have to say there are a lot of moments I’m taking for granted and not documenting. I’m off to check out your flickr group and definitely consider this project, thank you 🙂
    Claudia

  11. I love it!! Can I join?

  12. I so love this idea! I used to be an avid Flickr-erer (LOL) and really need to get back into it. Thank you for guiding me there again and giving me a huge reality check as I looked through my old pictures. I often think that life is so mundane to take pictures all of the time, but then I go back and look and the “little things”, that aren’t such little things, just take my breath away. I added a few of my favs. Thanks again for giving me a jump start to get my creative butt back in gear! 😉

  13. A question: must the photos contain some piece of an actual child? 😉 I took a photo this morning in my teenager’s room while she was off at school, and it’s such a neat photo (her collection of hats slung over the bedpost), but I wasn’t sure if it “qualified”…? What do you think?

    • Great question, Laura. Thank you for asking. I think that is fine. I don’t want the pool to become filled with random shots of everyone’s latest sewing projects but I think pics of her room are perfectly fine since what you’re showing is her personality, so to speak. Go for it!

  14. I love this project, if I’m not too late I think I will slip over to Flickr and join in.

  15. This sounds like a great project, I can’t wait to see the featured posts!

  16. this is awesome! I came here via Wishstudio… I want to play!

Leave a Reply

