home

spring honeys

In 30 days of beauty, baking on 03/23/2010 at 12:51 pm

If you’ve only been visiting here for the last week, you probably think that this blog is about food. If that bores you, thanks for bearing with me. It’s just that I want this space to actually reflect the seasons of our home and right now, we’ve been bitten by the baking bug. So there you have it.

We welcomed the first day of Spring with a little cookie experiment that ended surprisingly well. (Many previous ones, have not). If you’re looking for an indulgent, yet light as a feather cookie, look no further. I’ve aptly dubbed them “Spring Honeys”. When you taste them, you won’t believe they’re egg and dairy-free cookies either!

SPRING HONEYS: DAIRY AND EGG-FREE COOKIES – makes about 2 and a half dozen
1/3 cup of margarine (I can’t eat dairy, so I use Willow Run Soybean Margarine, but of course, you could use butter)
2/3 cup honey
3/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp cream of tartar
1/2 tsp salt
3 tbsp applesauce
1 tsp baking powder
1 and a half cups all-purpose flour

THE TOPPING:
1 tbsp sugar
1 tsp ground cinnamon

Pre-heat oven to 375º. In a small bowl, mix sugar and cinnamon for the topping and set aside. In a large bowl, soften  and then beat butter or margerine for 30 seconds. Add honey, baking soda, cream of tartar and salt. Beat. Add applesauce and baking powder. Beat. Add flour. Beat. Drop rounded teaspoons on a greased cookie sheet (I use parchment paper instead) about 2″ apart. Sprinkle generously with cinnamon and sugar mixture.

Bake 8 to 10 minutes or until bottoms are golden brown. When you take them out of the oven, the tops will still be a bit moist and cakey but if cooled on a wire rack, they’ll firm up.

  1. I completely understand. I often experiment with cookies, and most of the time they are NOT good. Isn’t it weird that what tastes so good as cookie dough can come out so very wrong when baked? These are going on my list to try. They look delish!

  2. Um yum! And a recipe we can easily adapt to gluten free. Im loving your new set up here…it really does look like a magazine. Very unique Gina!

    :)Lisa

    • I think it would be easily adapted, Lisa. Let me know how they turn out. I hope you enjoy them. Thank you for the kind words about the new layout. I’m enjoying it too. I needed a fresh start for Spring.

  3. I love anything with honey- If my husband would let me I would keep a hive in our yard. I will for sure try these they look yum.

  4. I think that bee-keeping is so fascinating. I always enjoy reading Sarah’s adventures at Bee House Hives: http://beehousehives.blogspot.com/

  5. These sound delicious!
    And I’m really loving the new layout.
    LOTS to see…and very inspiring.
    Char.x.

  6. mm those look so yummy.

  7. I love cookies made with applesauce. They are so moist.

    Looks amazing. I’ll add them to my “want to bake” list that continues to grow. If only swimsuit season weren’t around the corner.

  8. Oh my goodness…those look and sound delicious! Thanks for sharing the recipe! We certainly go through periods of copious baking as well. Enjoy!

  9. I definitely need to give these a try–honey is my favorite. I need to head to the market to pick up some spring blossom honey soon!

  10. this new layout is wild! i love it! and i am certainly trying these cookies very soon. thank you!

  11. yum! these sound delish!

  12. These look and sound delicious. I love me some honey! Thanks for sharing.

  13. We are baking these as I type. Just FYI if you use butter they are even fluffier than those pictured. And shorten the cook time if you aren’t using parchment (I ran out). My first tray was a bit over done on the bottom. Anyone have tip to bring out the honey flavor more?

Leave a Reply

