home

simplify your kitchen: two tips

In simplifying on 03/24/2010 at 12:12 pm

 

Perhaps you already implement these in your kitchen, but they were new ones for me and I wanted to share.
 
 Tip #1: Line your refrigerator shelves with tea towels to catch drips and spills.
When they’re soiled, just toss them in the wash. 
 

Tip #2: If you’re having guests for ice cream (or your family just likes to eat a lot of it), as soon as you get home from the market, while it is still soft, scoop balls of ice cream into muffin tins and freeze. Then transfer the frozen balls to a large Ziploc bag for quick and easy serving later.  

  tips via podcast by Donna Otto  

 

  1. these tips are great! i’ve also seen the ice cream from the rectangular boxes cut into cubes with a knife. so smart and handy. i’ll have to try the tea towels, too. sounds like something you could sew a custom-sized towel for…

  2. I like that tea towel idea. Thanks for sharing your tips.

    :)Lisa

  3. Oh wow! I love both these ideas!! thank you 🙂

  4. Smart ideas! I like to line my fridge drawers with a section of old newspaper. It makes it a lot easier to clean them later on!

  5. What a fantastic idea about the cloths in the refrigerator… so happy to have a new time saver and it will look lovely.
    Warm wishes, Tonya

  6. I don’t understand about the towels. Say the milk carton springs a leak and is sitting in a little puddle of milk. To toss that towel in the wash, I’m going to have to take out not only that milk carton but also everything else on that shelf so that I can remove the towel that was under them. I’ll also have to wipe the shelf because the milk will have soaked through the towel. If I hadn’t had that towel there, I could have just wiped up the milk and gone on with my life. How do the towels make it easier??

    • I should have clarified that this tip is for people who don’t actually take the time to stop and wipe their shelves as soon as they notice a drip or a spill. I certainly don’t.(Obviously, a leaky milk carton is going to make a huge mess and would have to be dealt with right away, regardless. Chances are, if that happens, I’m going to have to take everything out anyway. I’ve never actually had a carton spring a leak in the fridge,but that would be a pain. At our house, the more common occurence is that a jar of something gets back in there with something dripping down the side. I would not take the towel out every single time something drips on it. It just means that on the days when I take the time and clean out the fridge, and would be taking everything out to wash the shelves, I can toss the towel in the wash instead and will have less scrubbing to do. Thanks for your thoughts!

  7. I love these tips! What do you use in your vegetables bin?

  8. I really love the towel idea! Definitely something I will be using in my new place

  9. WHAT fabulous tips…Love the ice-cream and Tea towel tips…genius!
    HUGS and have a great weekend.
    Char

  10. I love the tea towel tip! We definitely have dirty little shelves in our fridge. I also liked your mail sorter idea in a previous post. Thanks for the great ideas!

Leave a Reply

