home

day fourteen: lemon poppyseed cookies

In 30 days of beauty, baking, recipes on 03/04/2010 at 8:55 pm

These dairy-free lemon poppyseed drop cookies have become a family favorite. They freeze wonderfully and I actually prefer them cold instead of straight out of the oven. Try them. You won’t be disappointed.

Ingredients:

3/4 cup sugar
3/4 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup margerine (I use Earth Balance)
1 cup applesauce
1-1/2 tsp vanilla
3/4 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp salt
1 tsp lemon zest
2-1/2 cups flour
1/4 cup poppy seeds

Cream together both sugars, margerine, and applesauce.
Add remaining ingredients.
Mix well.
Drop SMALL spoonfuls onto a cookie sheet.
Bake 8 to 10 minutes at 350 degrees.
Makes about 3-1/2 dozen

  1. OMG…these LOOK amazing…I think this should be named the CHARLOTTA COOKIE by Gina…only because these are my favourite flavours in one cookie…
    I must try baking them and I’ll direct EVERYONE over to YOU for the recipe…
    YUM.

    And I’m simplifying by looking at values…we’re going through another stage with our Little Miss A at the moment…and we’re trying to install values and how to treat others…especially the ones you love.
    This has made the week much slower and given much more meaning to everything we do here at home.

    Thanks for Sharing Gina!
    HUGS
    Char
    Char

  2. Yum. I need one now (without all the baking). Maybe after the babies go to bed.

  3. These look lovely – I am definitely going to try them.

    I baked bread this week using a recipe you posted just after Xmas:

    http://housewife-chic.blogspot.com/2010/03/baking-bread_03.html

    Charlotte xx

  4. Beautiful? Check.
    Looks tasty? Check.
    Easy? Check.
    Healthy? Check.

    Yep. I’m making them.

  5. yum. those look delicious! there is something about lemons and spring that goes so well together!

  6. there are few things in life more beautiful than a measuring cup full of butter. these cookies look amazing!

  7. Beautifully done! I love how the pictures tell the story. I know you have mentioned more pictures less words. This is awesome. Now I want some cookies.

    :)Lisa

  8. Gina,
    Thank you. I am so tired of chocolate chip cookies. Sunday is my making cookies day. I needed a new recipe and could not think of one. This has come at the most perfect time. Thanks to you my little family will be loving these cookies in their lunches this next week 🙂 Love it when that happens!

  9. These cookies look amazing – I really want to try them. But with one caveat: did you know that butter is actually better for you than margarine? Both are fats but butter is natural whereas margarine is artificial. And butter would make these cookies absolutely over the top good!

Leave a Reply

