home

yarn lover’s wall decor: a tutorial

In handmade, our home, projects + tutorials on 01/11/2010 at 11:45 am

knitter's wall hanging 
One thing I love about crafting is that so many of the mediums and tools are beautiful, even in their “raw” state. I’m always looking for ways to display them in our home since they add a personal touch and speak of this beautiful season of life that we’re enjoying. I’m particularly fond of my bamboo knitting needles and this wall hanging allows me to enjoy them in my favorite corner, while keeping tiny hands at a safe distance.

This project is so simple, and can be completed in a matter of minutes once your materials are assembled. It can function solely as a piece of art or you can insert more needles and use it as a creative way to store and display your collection. If you don’t knit, tuck it away as a thoughtful gift idea for someone else.

Materials
pinking shears
cardboard
fabric for background
frame (The frame pictured is 11×14)
yarn
thread (same color as yarn)
large sewing needle
knitting needles (as many as you like)

 

Instructions
1. With pinking shears, cut a circle out of cardboard to the desired size, depending on the size of your frame. (Pinking the edges helps to keep the yarn from slipping). 

2. With the tail of the yarn on the back side, begin wrapping the yarn around the circle in whatever pattern strikes your fancy. It’s entirely up to you. It should look like a squashed ball of yarn when you’re finished. 

3.  Trim off the excess and tuck the loose end of yarn in wherever you like. 

4. Cut a piece of background fabric suitable for the size of your frame. I recommend cutting it slightly larger than the frame so you can tug on the edges after inserting the frame backing and get it to lay flat. 

5. Using a large sewing needle and matching thread, tack your yarn ball tightly to the fabric. I just tacked it at the top, bottom, and on either side. One or two stitches in each place is sufficient. You can either let the tail hang down freely or you can tack the tail to the fabric in a trailing squiggly design with your sewing thread. 

6. Frame (without glass, of course) 

7. Insert your knitting needles…just two, or as many as you like. 

 Hang and enjoy! 

UPDATE 1.19.2010: If you’re looking for some fantastic new blogs to add to your daily travels, be sure to check out the “Regulars” in the sidebar and prepare to be inspired!

 

 

projects + tutorials: the archives

  

  1. Wow! So sweet and simple. I love this so much and I don’t even knit (I crochet and I’m hoping wooden crochet needles will be just as lovely). I’ll be making this for my sister-in-law for sure. Thanks for the inspiration. Have a lovely day.

  2. What a great idea! Wish I knitted, but I know people who do. The bottom image really speaks of tranquility. Makes me want to cozy up on you green chair by the window and read 🙂
    Enjoy your day!

  3. what a lovely touch to that bright and cozy looking corner!

  4. Oh how cozy…….. may I please come to knit 😉

  5. that does look like a really comfortable corner of your home.

  6. I love this project! ♥ Such a great idea, very clever. Thanks for sharing and happy Monday!

  7. Love this idea. I am a knitter as was my mother. When she passed away my dad gave me her knitting supplies, I think I will do this using her needles and yarn. Thank you for the great idea.

  8. That is fabulous! I Love that Idea, I think it would also make a great Gift.
    Thanks for sharing,
    Nancy
    http://www.coeurdalenegifts.com
    coeurdalenegifts.blogspot.com

  9. LOVE it! knitting meets modern art – have you notified MOMA? I will definitely make this. and i love your patchwork pillow.

  10. This is so gorgeous and clever! I am always looking for ways to personalize our home, to make it look like we live here, and not anyone else, you know? This is so lovely, and can really be adapted by using different yarn, needles, etc. Thank you so much for sharing!!

  11. What an incredible idea! I LOVE it. Goodness, I cannot wait to get started. You are brilliant.

  12. LOVE IT! Great inspiration!

  13. This is such an awesome idea. Now I know what to give my sister for her birthday next month. Thanks!!

  14. It’s nice to meet you too! What a lovely blog you have here, I’m going to stop back again sometime when I have more time. I love this! So, beautiful, I love how it comes out of the frame and off of the wall just a bit. Absolutely lovely!

  15. That is an adorable idea. What an incredible little corner! I absolutely love it and I don’t even knit. I have forwarded it to my yarn loving friends. Martha in Texas

  16. Good Lord. I love this. Once our house is finished, I am definitely going to be putting this on one of the walls.

    Awesome tutorial as always.

  17. love this beautiful project idea. thank you for the inspiration. and thank you for your kind and wise reflections on love.

  18. Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by Lionbrandyarn: Simple and chic yarn lover’s wall decor: http://bit.ly/6TCcjP

  19. Oh my goodness!! I adore this! When I make mine, it will be with a crochet hook instead though 🙂

  20. I love the chunky yarn and the frame and the wooden needles. What a great combo! Very fun project.

  21. This is SO cute. My friend Allison would LOVE this. I love how you chose black yarn.

  22. My mom who knits would get a kick out of this, fun!

  23. I have a friend this would be PERFECT for– now to find a few more minutes in the day…

  24. I’m thinking one of those would be perfect for my new studio!!

  25. this really is a must-do project for an knitter. i don’t knit, but my bff does, and i will absolutely make one for her! thank you so much for the tutorial!

  26. This is a *lovely* idea! I am going to make one of these for my craft room. Thank you so much for sharing!

  27. This is amazing, what a gorgeous project. Thank you so much for sharing!

  28. Ingenious! That’s so cute…..I love it! You are one creative mama!
    love,
    Sara

  29. clever! and your special corner looks welcoming and cosy.

  30. Hello
    You are absolutely right that in crafting so many of the mediums and tools are beautiful.This looks really very nice and cute.I also like this idea very much.Thank you very much for this useful post.

  31. Now I know what to do with those odd bits of leftover yarn. I think I’ll do a big “collage” with some vintage patterns as the background (copies of course) and Lots of “balls.”

    Thanks for sharing!

  32. Oh I LOVE this! I’d love to make it for my friend Heather but I know she’s already seen it, so I bet she’ll beat me to it! Pondering how I could transform this into something for my sewing space…

  33. i LOVE this. i am a newbie and just started sewing and knitting. i am so excited to have found your site!!!!

  34. […] thread, a frame, a pair of knitting needles and some cardboard. The entire tutorial is available here from Bright and […]

  35. this is cool ! it turned out great !

  36. i am so into this! what a neat idea you had. and also i just like your little peaceful corner a lot. i’m feeling like any semblance of peace and comfort right now is such a gift. along with recognizing it, instead of taking it for granted. much love…h

  37. Whoa, I love this!!! Thanks so much. I can’t wait to create one. I’ll be linking as well.

  38. That is so clever and a great way to use up those scraps of yarn that we, knitters, have lying around. 🙂

  39. This is perfect!! As soon as I saw it I thought, “Why didn’t I think of that??” I love it!

  40. I love your art project and am going to give it a try. Thank you so much for sharing this with us. By the way, I saw it on One Pretty Thing and immediately popped over to visit your blog.

  41. Hi, Love this idea…I did a similar project here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/24113698@N08/2284614474/in/set-721576133

    This would look so cute in my spinning area!

  42. Love your idea! I crochet and knit like crazy. Will be posting a crochet lap afghan in a few weeks on my blog. (www.thechacogirl.blogspot.com)

  43. Very sweet idea. I like it!

  44. I just popped over from the SMS forums. This is such a sweet project…and so classy looking. 🙂

  45. This is such a fabulous idea- thanks for sharing!

Leave a comment