home

day five and a heart-to-heart

In 30 days of beauty, things pondered on 02/12/2010 at 1:23 pm

This week has been the perfect mix of rest, work, and play. And I’ve loved it. I needed time and space to hit the “reset” button on life. Sometimes it just seems that everywhere I turn, things are a bit “off” and the more I dash from one thing to the next trying to right it all, the more maddening it becomes. Such was my feeling at the beginning of this week. But not today. Today, the clutter is cleared, both literally and figuratively. I’m rested…refreshed…at ease.

Over the last five days, I’ve had a lot of time to think about this space…and about that space. I want both to be an honest reflection, not only of me, but of the current season I’m in. Lately, I’ve been feeling this internal pressure to create (another craft project…another tutorial…another something) but I think that most days, rather than trying to “invent” beauty, I’m suppose to simply acknowledge the beauty that already surrounds me and give thanks. And then I read this post and began this project and my mind began to clear. Five days into the thirty and I’m in love.

All of that being said, you’re likely to see some changes here in the days and weeks to come. There will be days when my post here is simply a series of images…wordless. This will be a challenge for me. I like words. I love words. I need words. But I think I need to exercise my ability to be silent more than I need to speak. And I want to learn to take photographs that need no explanation…images that speak for themselves. 

Secondly, this feeling that I MUST post every single day is a prideful, self-imposed rule that is counter-creative in many ways and the surest way to end up in a bloggy burnout. From here on out, I will not be posting every single morning of the week. It will vary. I’m not making a schedule (as my type A personality would prefer) but rather just allowing space for it to happen as it will.

The format of the Solstice Letters project will remain unchanged but I will be posting just a few times per week. Keep those beautiful photographs coming. I’ll be using them.

Thank you for reading this rambling of mine. I suppose most of it could have gone entirely unsaid but so many of you frequent here daily and I wanted to let you know that change is on the horizon.

If I disappear from here over the next day or two, know that our power did not survive the first dumping of snow here in the deep South. Yes, I know the weather man said three to five inches but where we live, it might as well be three to five feet. This town is unprepared and giddy with excitement. Well, off I go…there’s much to be done this morning. Thank you for listening, as always.

p.s. As soon as I hit “publish” on this post, I hopped over to Shutter Sisters and received this wonderful surprise…more confirmation that I am indeed on the right path.

  1. I applaud you, Gina, for your honesty and spunk. We’ve all been there, and will be there again. And again, and again, and again. (And again!) Our own expectations are always so much higher than others’, no? Looking forward to all the new wonders a slower, more leisurely pace will bring to this space.
    Cheers,
    Molly

    • Thank you for the encouragement, Molly. The pressure was of my own making. I realized when I began Solstice Letters I would have to make some changes.

  2. I’m glad you’re rethinking things and letting go of the self-imposed obligations. Good for you. 🙂

    And congratulations on winning the drawing! You definitely deserve it.

  3. Gina, I have really been enjoying your 30-days-of-beauty photographs, and I think you’re on the right path here. I think that a blog should nurture yourself and your own creativity, first and foremost, and you’re right to reevaluate and change courses to take care of yourself. I don’t think there’s any need to to worry about what your readers will think (although you’re kind to do so)–taking care of yourself and offering up your best self will be the best thing for you and your readers. Take care!

  4. gina,
    wonderful honest post… and very thoughtful…
    it’s all good… i sure do adore your blog!

    and i popped here from shuttersisters to congratulate you!! sooo awesome!!

    xxo, kim

  5. Gina – you cannot be superhuman – I wondered when I found you and soltice letters how you could do it every. day. So, we will love what you do, when you do it, and be inspired that way. It can be more inspiring when you have time to write it and we have time to read it!
    Peace.

  6. Gina –

    This is what blogging should be; a glimpse of ones soul, not a marathon of reality shows. Your blog remains a favorite.
    Thank you for sharing.

    – Deborah

  7. Oh, how I know exactly what you’re saying about dashing around and trying to make things ‘right’, when really what is needed is some downtime. I felt that way last week and this week has only added to that craziness. Hopefully this weekend will be rejuvenating!

  8. This is wonderful, Gina! I can completely relate to needed to un-clutter and focus. Although it sounds like you’re well on your way while I am still procrastinating. I adore that post that you linked to. Thanks for sharing that and these thoughts. And so good of you to evaluate and make changes where needed!

  9. Life is a process…a sure sign indeed. Congrats! On both your picture and finding the time to tune into your needs.

    :)Lisa

  10. Hi Gina! Just came by from Scoutie Girl — and man, this could have been a post I had written! I’ve gotten myself into a state where I NEED to post something everyday, and I’m slowly realizing that if I spend all my creating time blogging, well, then I won’t have much to blog about, will I? You have a beautiful blog here, and you’ve noticed that it takes time and energy to do it. THanks for the reminder, I should take a page from your book!

  11. You picked the perfect week for a break…you were everywhere this week! shivaya naturals, scoutiegirl, wishstudio, shutter sisters…if that is not confirmation enough that you are on the right track I don’t know what is! congratulations….it’s well deserved!

    Finding…and KEEPING…a balance is tricky business. Sounds like you are navigating smoother waters now in a broader boat.
    blessings~

  12. Oh, I just love your blog, so glad I discovered it via wishstudio! I have bookmarked you for a sure return.

    Shona

  13. Lovely picture – enjoy your sponteneity 🙂

  14. Dear Gina,
    I so enjoyed reading your words today. You are right, though, that images can speak to us just as well or better at times.
    Thank you for sharing.
    Warm wishes, Tonya

  15. no pressure …just peace and create on your time frame

  16. Come and speak to us any time. We will be here to listen. Cheers to you.

    Jules

  17. I’m glad that you recognize that you need this….

  18. seems like you are tapping into your magic!! it does ebb and flow, though, doesn’t it? i had a few days just like what you were describing earlier in the week. the murphy’s law flow, and i did not know how to enjoy it, at all. it makes me wonder if it’s planetary, when a bunch of us feel it at the same time. or lunar? or solar? or earthly? or womanly? something, for sure, influences us in that crazy and then magical way!! yay for the class you won!!

  19. As always, your photos are beautiful!

  20. I came across the same realization about a year ago–it was a much needed change and really brought about balance in my days.

Leave a Reply

