home

on the nightstand

In books, on the nightstand on 02/04/2010 at 12:11 pm

An itty-bitty mouse,
pitter-pat, tip-toe,
creep-crawls in the cave
from the fluff-cold snow.

Mouse squeaks, “Too damp,
too dank, too dark.”
So he lights wee twigs
with a small hot spark
.

Karma Wilson, Bear Snores On (New York: Margaret K. McElderry Books, 2002). 

 Drop in unannounced between breakfast and lunch, and at some point you’ll likely find us back in bed, nestled between two pillows and a pile of beloved books. We have a lot of favorites – old and new –  that we’d like to share. You can see what else we’re reading by clicking the nightstand in the sidebar. Feel free to add your own favorites to the list we’ve started there.

p.s. If anyone knows how to get blueberry juice out from under a two-year-old’s fingernails that doesn’t involve an old toothbrush and a lot of drama, I’m all ears. As you can see, I let it slide yesterday.

  1. My oldest’s fingernails look like that a lot. I’ve almost given up trying to get her to clean and cut her fingernails. She hates it still. It drives my husband nutts…

    :)Lisa

  2. Soak them in milk, I heard that that works.

    That books looks like a really sweet story.

  3. Personally? I’d just leave the nails alone. It’ll either come out in the next bath, or the stains will grow out with her nails eventually. It’s not worth the fight. It’s just blueberry juice. There are worse things in the world. 🙂

  4. The book looks wonderful…we’re off to the Library this morning…

    I would link by rubbing a lemon on them it may work?
    Or salt?

    Have a great day Gina!
    Char

  5. We call it inside-out fingernail polish.

    Seriously, though, a long soak in a warm bath does the trick every time, for us. And we need it about every other day around here (frozen blueberries are a huge fave), so I speak from experience!

  6. Oh! Karma Wilson is one of our favorites. My mother-in-law just got us “Hilda Must Be Dancing” (totally coincidentally……she had no idea of our love for Ms. Wilson).

    As for the finger nails, my solution is always to wait until the next finger nail clipping time.

  7. We love Karma’s books. She lives just miles from our house. A friend of mine just interviewed her.
    As for blueberry fingers.. I am no good. It seems nothing but time gets that out. We still have huckleberry stains on things here.. namely, the couch.

    What a great idea to have a nightstand. I look forward to going there. You have a wonderful and warm place here friend. I enjoy coming to visit.

  8. Good reminder to enjoy the cozy bed with the little ones while they are awake enough to find it fun! We’ll be doing that tomorrow since we’ll be snowed in. And as for the nails, those things have a way of working themselves out. It’s part of having kids.

  9. My kids’ fingernails grow so fast that stains don’t last too long. Plus, they are kids. They can get away with blueberry nails.

    Cute story. I’m jealous of your mid-morning storytime.

  10. Oh we are so similar with this. You can always find us, at some point in our day, back in bed with our stack of reading books for the day. I love this part of our day so much, and it just always helps when we are in need of a transition.
    I too would just her nails alone. Those things tend to work themselves out, and it is always a sign of a very happy childhood 🙂

  11. oh the reading tradition brings back memories…such sweet momnets! the juice under the nails…I’m with AmyBean..leave it, gotta pick your battles

  12. Oh, I am happy to see this post! I always love to see what others are reading. That book looks lovely, and I quite like your nightstand image in your sidebar.

  13. my kids nails are almost ALWAYS ending up like that, they have long baths when their nails are that way, eventually it goes away. But, I’m going to try that milk trick from Julia up there next time! Let me know if that works for you!

    We read a lot of books around here too, our favorites are If You Give a Mouse a Cookie and If You Give a Pig a Pancake, they are such fun books, we’ve read them so much that both my girls read them back to me now

  14. Oh I love that book. We’ve been reading it here a lot too.

    OnceUponAParent.Blogspot.com

  15. Oh.My.Gosh!!! The “Bear” books are my absolute favourite!!! We have them all! In fact, I was flipping through them today as I was tidying my daughter’s room. I think my new favourite “Bear” book, is Bear’s New Friend. Bear is Feels Sick is awesome too! Any new babies in my life recieve one of these books for their baby shower…so wonderful!

  16. We love the bear books too. He is such a loveable character and the illustrations are very attractive.

  17. My go to stain remover from the body, we like pomegranites around here, is coconut oil. Just slather a little bit on the hands, rub in good (you’ll have super soft hands) pushing it up under the nails. Wash hands and ta-dah your hands are all clean and soft. It also helps remove the sticky residue after waxing off body hair…giggle

    As a retire pre-k/Kindergarten teacher, I had many favorites, but I’ve loved Mercer Myers “The Wild Things” since I was a kid. My kids (students) always loved the Tedd Arnold books. They were awfully fun.

  18. We just love this book too.
    Thanks for sharing.
    Warm wishes, Tonya

  19. We love snuggling up and reading, too! Such sweet moments.

    And for the fingernails, I think someone already mentioned a bath but I usually get a sink full of warm sudsy water for my little guy and let him play in the sink. I’m loving all of the other home remedies, too!

  20. We love that book! It’s a regular read this season 🙂 Try lemon juice for the fingernails.

  21. Oh we love this book too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

