home

wednesday ramblings

In baking on 01/27/2010 at 11:58 am

How dreamy are these? When their catalog graced our mailbox, I devoured it as if it were piping hot and sugary. And as if their cookie molds really needed another purpose, turns out they’re good for making wishing wands **sigh**, and a few other things as well. I haven’t baked cookies in weeks. Maybe today. We have a lemon poppy seed recipe that I can’t get enough of. They’re all cakey and plump and taste heavenly eaten icy cold. If you’re interested in the recipe, I’ll rustle it up.

Congratulations to Madeleine on winning the vintage hand-tied mini quilt.

Madeleine: So cute! In the shop I would have to go

for the milk jar. I love that cute bird!

And thank you to all of you who helped to celebrate the grand opening and left such kind comments. I am so grateful.

Most of all, thank you for your honesty over here. I love meeting you in this space and sharing fun crafty tidbits but what’s happening there is a really beautiful thing…a deeper thing. Thank you for being real and for encouraging me to do the same. I’m still looking for a few more photographers if anyone is interested.

  1. I love these!! I can smell lemon shortbread and hot tea…….. beautiful and lovely 🙂

  2. OMG they are amazing!! I’ve never seen anything like it. Going to check out whether I can get one shipped – Thanks!! They are beaut.

  3. I just discovered your blog and it’s so great!
    Those cookie molds are absolutely beautiful.

  4. Wow! My daughter says, we need to get some of those!! What a fancy cookie! And that roller…is a piece of artwork.

    :)Lisa

  5. oh my…aren’t those just lovely. I don’t even need the cookies to appreciate their charming beauty.

  6. I have never seen anything like that… I wouldn’t even know what to do with them! =) I added some photos to the pool, hope you like them!

  7. i have been searching for one of those and vintage butter molds while thrifting simply forever, maybe i’ll score one this summer.

  8. cookie recipe, please! i adore lemon poppyseed ANYTHING!

    those molds are all awesome, too, btw. 🙂

  9. I would spin if that catalog ended up in my mailbox!

  10. wow… these are FANTASTIC… and your lemon poppy seed recipe sounds DELICIOUS… what a beautiful blog you have! xxo, kim

  11. I gasped when I saw that first image. And then I said, “Oooo, pretty!’ *sigh*

  12. I have dozens of House on the Hill molds (with many thanks to my mother!), and they ARE lovely, and many of them make a fine mold for cookies (sadly, not all, but I’ll have to try wishing wands!). Browned butter shortbread makes a fine dough for them that holds the imprint well. Have fun!

  13. Absolutely gorgeous. I adore the rolling pins. I’ve seen them in one of the older Martha Stewart magazines, but I thought they were vintage and never thought I could actually buy one. Thank you so much for the link.

  14. Those are so beautiful! I love molds and was looking for a wooden mold source, so thank you for sharing!
    love,
    sara

Leave a Reply

