home

seeing

In things pondered on 01/09/2010 at 4:05 am


“At first it appears that nothing could be easier than seeing. We just point our eyes where we want them to go and gather in whatever there is to see. Nothing could be less in need of explanation…the truth is more difficult: seeing is irrational, inconsistent, undependable…Our eyes are not ours to command; they roam where they will and then tell us they have only been where we have sent them. No matter how hard we look, we see very little of what we look at…Ultimately, seeing alters the thing that is seen and transforms the seer. Seeing is metamorphosis, not mechanism.”

James Elkins, The Object Stares Back: On the Nature of Seeing (New York: Simon & Schuster, 1996), p. 11.

| days of doing one thing = 12 |

  1. Lovely post. And so true!

  2. oh …I love this and love your way of becoming your dream by doing one thing each day. that is inspiring. thanks so much for your sweet words on so wabi sabi. it is a delight to be connected to so many inspiring stones. I am looking forward to digging into your blog a bit more.
    blessings~

  3. this is quite profound, isn’t it? and it relates to so many things in life. we see but don’t really see beauty, we see but don’t really see pain, suffering, lonliness…
    sight requires so much more than seeing. it involves our minds, our life experiences, and our hearts.
    this passage has obviously hit me this morning. it seems i’ve missed the signs of a friend’s internal struggle for some time. it’s frustrating that i didn’t “see” it before.
    thank you for this this morning. much to ponder on, huh? I hope it finds you seeing differently, too!

  4. This is such a beautiful blog…

  5. That’s one reason I want to have our own family blog. Sometimes it’s easier to see the beauty in things when you picture it with blogger eyes. Does that make sense? Like the other day, when I found a bathroom sink full of acorn caps and glass marbles. It was the first sight I woke up to and instead of being irked I found myself laughing inside and thanking God for my children and wanting to have a camera with batteries so I could put it on my blog.

    Lovely bowl of goodness by the way. 🙂

  6. This is pretty. And very true. I never thought of it that way.

  7. Lovely words to ponder. I find it fascinating that what makes us unique is our perspective – our way of “seeing” – the world around us. How we interpret what we see varies from person to person – from species to species.

    Thank you for this glimpse!

  8. really truly… I am in AWE of your photography…. it is so beautiful.

  9. this reminds me of the story about how the native americans, and when the ships from europe first came to their shores, how their eyes could not register these ships at all. they didn’t see them. their eyes wouldn’t allow them to somehow.

  10. interesting reading! seeing and actually truely SEEING what is in front of me is a constant challenge. i find that photography helps me notice and appreciate details i wouldn’t otherwise be aware of.

Leave a Reply

