home

noticing

In things pondered on 01/06/2010 at 11:00 am

It seems to me that mothering is, in many ways, a re-learning of how to be a child. It sounds simple. I know. But somewhere between innocence and here I ran headlong into the mad rush and stopped noticing. I suppose I’d keep right on, scarcely stopping to catch my breath, were it not for the small curious straggler at my heels who is never in a hurry. And while I am teaching her how to get from here to there, she is teaching me to pay attention to the scenery…a gift that perhaps only she can bestow. And for the first time, in a long time, the seemingly mundane parades in pageantry.

How do you carve out empty space in your day and in your home for “noticing” and for nurturing creativity?

 


p.s. While you’re here, be sure to check out the regulars. There are some fresh faces there this morning. You’re making this place feel like home.
Thank you.

| days of doing one thing = 9 |

  1. I think you’re right. If we want to be good parents, we have to try to remember what it was like to live as a child.

    I keep in the habit of noticing by keeping my camera on my face! 🙂

  2. Oh…We have 2 girls who are very different…one that notices every detail and sits back and admires the calm…and another who is go go go…who is about the next day, about what will happen in a week…a planner.
    Being a Mum…is all about trying to keep it fun whilst running all the mundane chores and activities on a daily basis…
    Lovely post…
    Char

  3. That is a great way to think of it. I just try to play with them, at their level. I get down and sit in their chairs with them and try to see things as they might see them. Obviously my mind thinks differently, but my eyes might see the same things. 🙂

  4. I love this! I blogged about something similar a little while ago…

    http://chickencounting.blogspot.com/2009/11/being-present.html

    It seems to me that one of the things that children do is force us to be less distracted, to pay attention in a way that perhaps we haven’t done since we ourselves were children. And you do notice things, everyday miracles all around, that you never saw before. It is such a gift.

  5. I never knew what stress was until I started graduate school and my first job at the same time. It wasn;t until that that I dove into the mad rush. Thankfully, I’m back to noticing. My favorite things to notice are words. Same for Margot.

  6. what a lovely, thoughtful post.

    my boys are almost 18 and 19… but recently my “almost” 18 year old has been spending lots of time here at home, wanting to hang out, watch a movie… just be with me. of course, i have to grab on and enjoy it… because i know it won’t be long before the nest is empty.

    i miss the days when they were “little”… and things were less complicated. and looking back, i wish i took more time to just slow down and be…

    i truly love your blog… it’s very inviting! xxo, kim

  7. Lovely post. It took me awhile to realize that God bestows His gift of Grace only in the present moment. My children serve as my teacher in present moment living.

  8. I can’t agree with the first statement more..you hit the nail on the head “re-learning of how to be a child” I feel that is so important in parenting and find this so hard at times…but when I do let go it is just such a joy…being in the moment, no better feeling. There is not enough time in the day for “me” with 4 kids and homeschooling so I get up early and do an hour of yoga (just started that) and I go to bed when my youngest goes 8 pm and read and knit…”me time” and I love it, a little tranquilty brfore slumber..

  9. Very thoughtful post. My son is grown now, but I have my granddaughter with me often. I know that she takes all my focus when we are together, and watching and participating with her in play brings me back to memories and feelings of my own childhood, and my son’s. I too, tend to get caught up in the rush, but she has reminded me of the pleasure of living fully in the moment.

  10. Ok, first off….where on earth did you get that pasta?

    And secondly…what a beautiful realization. I needed this post. Sometimes the dawdling of my boy drives me batty. thank you thank you thank you.

    I guess I need to stop and dawdle with him.

    • Hi, Julia. The pasta is just regular penne that we died with food coloring. She loves playing with it. Somewhere I’ve got instructions on exactly how to do it. I’ll look.

  11. This is such a beautiful perspective on mothering.You said exactly what I couldn’t form in words.

  12. I hadn’t thought in a while (or ever?) about the relationship between raising a child, and remembering what it is like to be one. I guess that one thing that I try hard to do with my little ones is let them guide me as to what they are interested in, and that allows all of us to just soak in their childhood. Thank you for your wonderful reminder. I am just loving grabbing a hot cup of tea, and heading over here to read your beautiful words.

  13. I love the colors of that pasta.

    I usually paint to escape after my four children are in bed at night 🙂

  14. My kids are grown and I am as defined by my age but I have the luck of having had a wonderful GrandMama that taught me to “notice” things, especially outdoors in the sky, in the woods, on the ground. I miss her but hold her close in my heart when I practice the art of “noticing.” It helps me keep a child like wonder and curiosity.

  15. I’ve recently found your lovely blog and am enjoying reading your thoughts.
    I am trying to notice by doing the 365 project over on flickr, taking a photo each day. I love the way my children’s approach to play and life generaly is changing and developing as they get older.

  16. Having children does a bit of both I think. Some days, when I’m open and willing to slow down and just be, my children guide me. They find lizards in the leaves on our walking path, and shapes in the cloud. They remind me to stop and look around. To breathe it all in. They remind me of my childhood. Other days I feel like having children has caused my life to speed on by. It seems that the years go so much faster watching them grow. My oldest is 11 and sometimes I don’t know where the time went.
    I made a promise to myself several months ago, to live intentionally. To take moments, even if it’s an effort, to notice the small things.
    I stumbled across your blog just tonight, and I’m glad this post was one of the first on the page, because I love how other peoples words and lives can inspire my life. I love the ‘reminders’. Does that make sense? I guess I’m rambling. But thank you, for this post. And this reminder. I’m glad I came across this tonight!

  17. What a gorgeous blog…just found you indirectly through Jen Altman’s Nectar & Light…you have a great photographic eye and I’m enjoying going through your posts.. Happy New Year to you!

  18. I was just talking about this yesterday. How being a mother means learning to live slowly. Every time I sit down to nurse my little one I have to step out of my busy busy rush rush life and just cuddle up and be still.

    Also, with Christmas passing I realised how quickly he is growing already – so I have promised to take more photos and keep note of things that make me smile every day.

    Charlotte xx

Leave a Reply

