home

thrifted, vintage, handmade nursery

In handmade, thrifting + vintage on 12/23/2009 at 12:23 pm


Our “big girl” room is nearly complete. It’s a bright mix of handmade, thrifted and vintage. “Happy eclectic”, we’ll call it. Soon enough, the crib will be replaced with the toddler bed built by my grandfather. This momma’s in no hurry. He also built the white chest of drawers (not pictured), which sat in my mother’s room as a child. She was kind enough to make the red bed skirt.

The rug was a $15 yard sale steal.

I thrifted the toy chest here.

The no-sew fabric bunting was one of my nap time projects.

The tiny rocker was a gift to my husband from his dear Grandaddy.

The framed vintage needlework was $12 at the local antique market. 

I discovered the storybook canvas hidden away in the back of a nearby small-town thrift shop. It was badly soiled and stapled to a stretcher frame but at $3.99 I decided to take my chances. A bit of Biz and Oxyclean worked wonders. I replaced the frame with two wooden dowels and some ribbon.

I’m looking forward to adding the quilt on Christmas morning.

I’ve enjoyed watching this colorful space come together and relished every minute of “the hunt”. A bright room for our bright-eyed girl, who is growing up way too fast.

Now that the pre-holiday madness is dissipating, I’m signing off for a couple of days. (Seems a bit backwards, I know.) If you’re looking for some easy craft projects to enjoy over the holidays, you can find a few here. Thank you to everyone who helped me out yesterday. I look forward to reading more of your suggestions.

Wishing you a weekend of warm gatherings.

Merry Christmas, from our home to yours.

  1. What a beautiful room….She is a lucky girl.

    Have a wonderful holiday.

  2. what a sweet, sweet room. giving me great ideas for lenna’s room one day. that rocking chair is so great.

  3. That is a great room. The light is wonderful, so cheerful! Happy holidays!

  4. That is the most adorable space! I love it! We’re in no hurry to get out of the crib either. Eeeek. Can we move in?

  5. what a sweet and beauitful space you have created here.

    found you via shutter sistesrs today.

    be well~

  6. oh SO beautiful! one lucky baby.

  7. I love this room. You have to come over and decorate my daughter’s room!!

  8. You can almost FEEL the dreaminess, right through the screen’s bright flicker. This is one lucky babe.

    And THANK you, I am so humbled, by your nomination! What a surprise, what an honor.

    May you and yours have a very merry Christmas!

    Molly

    • You’re more than welcome, Molly. As soon as I saw the categories for “the Homies” I knew you’d be a perfect fit. I hope you get lots of votes! Merry Christmas to you as well.

  9. This room looks perfectl! We love thrifting in our household and I love mixing old and new. The colours are very pretty and I really like the bunting!
    I’ve left you a message on another post but, once again, Thank you so much for nominating me for the Homies. I was very surprised!
    Hope you and your family have a fantastic Christmas, – Joyeux Noel!

  10. Ahhhh! I love it! I also love the term “happy eclectic”. Perfect for a little one’s room 🙂

  11. I enjoyed peeking around your site, and loved the ideas for craft projects and organizing. (You can tell it’s time for resolutions, again!) I particularly liked the poem included in your DYI dry-erase checklist.

    If a task is once begun
    Never leave it till it’s done;
    Be the labor great or small,
    Do it well or not at all.

    Did you write it? May I post it in my home? (I have some children who need some gentle reminding!)

  12. I really LOVE this nursery. I apologize now, as I plan on stealing a few of your ideas for our nursery as we prepare for baby #2:) You really showed a great way to make vintage stuff make a room look great.

  13. I love the rug and rocker…….great thrifting finds……and unique meaningful gifts…..the room looks lovely and peacful….

  14. This room is gorgeous. I think my uterus ached a little when I first saw it. (I’ve had baby fever pretty bad for almost 2 years!!)

Leave a Reply

