home

the longish day

In things pondered on 12/09/2009 at 6:52 am

We’ve been homebound for the better part of a week while she’s squabbled with a relentless case of the sniffles. By noon both our noses are pressed against the cold glass, pining for fresh air. I’ve actually found myself looking forward to letting the dog in and out. It provides a compelling case for opening the back door and allowing December to creep in and steal kisses from our bare feet. But then I imagine the rest of the world, clamoring for parking spaces at the mall or hemmed in by an overflowing inbox and barking deadlines, and suddenly I feel free as a bird. What better place to be imprisoned than our balmy kitchen with my favorite little person, painting snowflakes, munching graham crackers and ignoring the dishes.

  1. looks chilli out there! Funny how everythings is INSIDe our minds..the way we perceive things and then act to them. All a matter of perspective and attitude. great to read to suddenly felt free. your mind was free.. : ) is it possible that maybe we woke up with a filosphy vein? ha ; )
    thank you for your sweet comment on my blog!
    it is also chilli here but we have to ride our bikes downtown to take my older son to his music class.

  2. you’re so right, ishtar. it’s all a matter of perspective.

  3. I can not think of a better place to be imprisoned, then in my home and with my children. Your post sure puts life into perspective. Hope you can get out to play soon. By the way I love the fact that you two share crafts.

  4. Thank you, Trisha. We finally made it out for a bit late yesterday afternoon. It was unseasonably warm so we soaked up a little sunshine. Good luck with your scarf tutorial!

Leave a Reply

