home

d.i.y. dry erase organizer

In projects + tutorials on 11/29/2009 at 12:42 pm

These days I seem to stay perpetually behind on all the little things. At day’s end, it’s not the mammoth tasks that lie undone, but a predictable pile of small things I’ve neglected – freshly laundered clothes  forgotten on the bed and the morning coffee grinds waiting to be discarded.

Pre-motherhood, I was a keeper and lover of lists. I had one for everything. I have long since been broken of this habit since I prefer a writing utensil that is neither sticky or wrapped in Crayola paper. On a recent outing, I discovered 8×10 magnetic photo frames, perfectly sized for displaying a week’s worth of predictable two-minute to-do’s and dinner menus (and a few blank spaces each day for the inevitable extras). I keep a few dry erase markers handy to check things off. The list wipes clean on Sunday evening.

If a task is once begun
Never leave it till it’s done ;
Be the labor great or small,
Do it well or not at all.

  1. I would love to see what categories you have on the board and how it’s all organized.

    • I created mine in excel. I have the days of the week across the top and three sections for each day down the left-hand side: morning, afternoon, evening. Then I just filled it in with all the various tasks I need to accomplish in a given day. Hope that helps.

  2. Just a thought…for those of us who haven’t found magnetic photo frames, you could also slip this paper into a sheet protector and hang it up on the wall or clip it to a clipboard. The dry erase markers wash right off with a little water so it’s still the same principal. I use this trick to stay organized with my dd’s homeschooling info and I love it!

  3. Wonderful idea. I hate wasting paper with my “LISTS”. Where did your outing lead you to find those wonderful frames? Again Wonderful! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

