home

tea tree advent calendar

In handmade, projects + tutorials on 12/15/2009 at 12:13 pm

Yes, yes. I know. I said I’d have holiday gift tags for you today. They’re coming. I just wanted to share this first. It’s a bit late to be tossing out Advent calendar ideas but perhaps this one can be safely tucked away until next year. Even if you’d prefer to leave all of the bags on the tree, it can serve as a reminder to carve a few minutes out of your holiday bustling to take a deep breath and introduce your palette to a new variety. Better yet, it might bring a bit of cheer and a cup of calm to your busy office or holiday gathering if you just forgo numbering the bags and set it out for everyone to help themselves. 

To assemble, collect a handful of twigs and secure them in a container of your choosing. Gather an assortment of tea bags and wrap each one with embroidery thread. Tie with a bow to secure as shown. Cut strips of festive colored scrapbook papers to fold in half and cover each tea tag. Write the name of the tea (and a number if using as an Advent calendar) on each folded strip.  Use a glue stick on the inside of each strip, insert tea tag into the fold and press to secure. Hang using the string on the bag.

p.s. The link to a complete list of projects and tutorials has moved to the navigation bar in the header.

UPDATE: Check out “Childhood: The Fine Print”, a new collaborative on Flickr. Jump in anytime!

  1. That is such a great idea!

  2. I love this idea. actually, all your ideas.

  3. This is just a wonderful idea. I am going to file it in my folder for next year.
    We enjoy our daily tea time and what a treat this would be.
    Warm wishes.

  4. It has never cross my mind about this but it is something fresh.

  5. I love this idea so much! My mother-in-law and my teaching partner are avid tea drinkers and I really want to make this for them next holiday season. Oh dear! How will I remember? A full year? I can’t remember ideas from last week! Maybe I’ll make it in January just to start the year off right! ;)

  6. What a great idea…and a play on words!

    Awesome.

    I bet it smells amazing.

  7. So cute :) creative and practical

  8. I absolutely LOVE this idea!!!

  9. This is so cute! I’ll have to keep it in mind next year for all my favorite tea-drinking musicians :-)

  10. What a great idea! I made the classic Christmas chain this year but have switched colours part way through to represent when I get to go home. I am very excited!

  11. What an absolutely fabulous idea! I will totally do this next year for all the tea lovers in my life!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

